Dryathlon, woop woop

You know those really irritating holier-than-thou people who rub their smugness in your face at the end of January because they’ve pulled through the whole month without a single drop of booze? This year I’m hoping to be one of them. Apparently, according to Cancer Research’s current campaign, we’re called ‘Dryathletes.’ Hear that, guys? I’m going to be an athlete.

I hope. I only signed up today for Cancer Research’s Dryathlon but have not had any drinkies whatsoever since the early hours of New Years Eve. So I totally count. If you fancy sponsoring me on this mammoth mission… please click here. I know we all like to give money to anything that might help stop cancer sooner, but if any cheeky friends are reading this and you simply want to throw money at Cancer Research because you would literally pay to see me not drink alcohol for a month then please do be my guest!

So, alcohol. I do love a glass of wine. Especially a nice, rich glass of red. I’m salivating as I type this. It’s 2:30 in the afternoon and there’s a good 28 days of this dry crap left to go. I think it’s a nice glass of red that I’ll miss most.

I’ve always enjoyed alcohol. I don’t drink daily, or even weekly most of the time. But when I do, unless I am just enjoying a glass of wine for the sake of enjoying a glass of wine – bloody hell, do I drink. I can drink most people I know under the table. I’ve been the last one standing more times than I care to admit to. I’ve never considered myself a problem drinker, although I did used to drink alone out of boredom. Luckily I have more hobbies now. I probably don’t go out drinking any more or less often than the average twenty something – throw the student nurse stereotype into the mix and I’m probably an angel. But I think the fact that I don’t drink daily – I’ve never been the type to just have a glass of wine with dinner – will make this much easier to stick to as I’m not really modifying a daily habit. Just not going out and getting smashed for a while.

But I would like to drink less. I’m kind of craving the benefits. Well, I’m craving health again in general, hence why I started this bloody blog. That’s an odd phrase, isn’t it? ‘Craving health.’ You’re supposed to crave biscuits. God, am I ever craving those motherfuckers too, every second of my life…

So. Aside from avoiding hangovers for a month (dreams really do come true) there are two much longed for benefits CRUK is telling me I will experience by not drinking… better sleep and a lower calorie intake. My sleep has been poor for months. How directly related this is to my alcohol consumption I guess I’ll find out throughout the month, but I’m one of these types who can be utterly shattered, feel a few seconds of relief when I finally crawl into bed… then spend the next couple of hours tossing and turning begging the sleep God to put me out of my misery. Then when I do sleep, it’s so deep that getting myself fully awake and going in the morning is a far more difficult task than it should be. As to the calories, I am not blind to this little pooch that’s suddenly sprouted in the last year. I’m thinking of giving it a name. But I’m sure alcohol has played at least a small part in its growth.

CRUK also promises me I will have more energy and says I can do the things I’ve put off doing. I’ve been a procrastinator since the day I was born but let’s see if my time partying can be better spent… maybe I’ll foster a dog or something. Or a ferret. I hope those kind of agencies exist. So here I sit sipping my Innocent smoothie (I know, ssh) and trying not to crave red wine. And biscuits. Why oh whyy do I do this to myself?

I’ll keep this updated because accountability. And if I make it, I promise not to smear my smug in your face like some preachy ex-smoker. I have vowed not to become the preachy ex-smoker, though I can happily say I have been one for almost two months now (New Year’s Eve doesn’t count btw). I’ll probably make a post on that at some point too.

Happy New Year to all and let me know if you’re also drying out this January!

Author: stephgetsclean

Writer, student nurse, tiara enthusiast. Spending most of my time getting healthy again and the rest talking about it on the Internet like a true millennial.

Leave a comment